Primary election ballots mailed June 6

Primary election ballots mailed June 6
Posted on 06/07/2016

The La Plata County Clerk mailed ballots on June 6 for the upcoming primary election. They should be arriving in mailboxes before the weekend, so be on the lookout!

Voters in the June 28 primary will be able to weigh in on a number of local, state and federal races including 
U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, University of Colorado Regent, Colorado House District 59, Sixth Judicial District Attorney, La Plata County commissioner districts 2 and 3 and county surveyor. Presidential candidates will not be on either party’s primary ballot. That is because since 2003, Colorado has selected its presidential candidates through the Democratic and Republican parties’ caucus process. But voters who are affiliated with either political party can weigh in on their respective party’s primary races. Because primaries are party-specific, voters will only see their party’s candidates for each race on their ballot – and not all of the races have contests. In fact, most do not.

For Republicans, there are five candidates for U.S. Senate, two for U.S. House of Representatives District 3, and two for the State Board of Education. On the Democrats’ ballot, the Sixth Judicial District Attorney is the only race with a contest.

Voters who are already affiliated with either party will automatically receive a ballot. To be sure your address is current or to register to vote, visit or stop by one of our offices – 98 Everett Street Suite C in Bodo Park or in the Bayfield Town Hall, 1199 Bayfield Parkway. If you are not yet affiliated with a party, you can do so by June 20 and still receive a mail ballot. After June 21, you can affiliate with a party at any of the county’s voter service and polling centers, and vote in person. Those are located at the La Plata County Fairgrounds, 2500 Main Ave., and our offices in Bodo Park and Bayfield. Any affiliated voter can cast his ballot in-person at one of these centers June 20-28.

Those wishing to change their , though, the deadline has passed. 

For those returning mail ballots, we have several secure drop-sites throughout the county, where you can return your primary ballot any time before 7 p.m. on June 28: at our offices in Durango and Bayfield, at Ignacio Town Hall, 540 Goddard, and at the La Plata County Administration Building, 1101 E. 2nd Ave., in Durango.